A Spring Baby

Granddaughter number 2 safely arrived into the world at 7.30 this morning. She's called Violet Frances, weighs 6lbs 12oz and both mother and baby are doing well.

Scott messaged me about 10am to say that I could take Scarlett to the hospital, but not to say anything to her. When we got there he met us and asked if I minded if he took Scarlett in on her own first - of course I didn't. And as they walked off, he stopped to tell her that baby sister had arrived. She looked at him and said 'has baby sister come out of mummy's tummy?' She then turned and ran to me saying 'baby sister's here!' The look of excitement on her face was wonderful and I felt quite emotional, particularly that she came to tell me and hadn't just walked off with her daddy.

They have to stay in hospital tonight and I've arranged with work that I can take tomorrow as a holiday and can stay to look after Scarlett tonight - plus I get another cuddle with Violet in the morning before heading home!

It's a very special moment that I'm so happy to have been able to share with them, as Rach found out she was pregnant a few days before I was diagnosed with the breast cancer. So it's been quite a journey - her pregnancy and my treatment, but what an end result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.