Gaylord goes POP!

Dear Diary,

It has been some time since I just had some fun with a photograph so I thought I would create a pop portrait of Gaylord in the style made famous by Andy Warhol. Every year I would give my students an assignment to choose an art style and render an ordinary object in that style. It was part of their art history learning.

Exploring new styles, for me, is just an exercise of pushing your limits, your normal way of regarding the world. When we lock into only one way to see the world we lose the capacity to grow. We develop rigid thinking which I use to call "psychosclerosis"...hardening of the attitudes. I also tried the same Gaylord photo in the style of M.C. Escher. (Extra today.)

Now, I don't plan to dramatically change my photographic style because of these little playful experiments but it was great fun and that is of value all by itself. Then, down the road perhaps, a moment will come when I do decide to alter my photographic style a bit and this allows me to see that it is indeed possible to teach an old dog new tricks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.