Sites of Meaning

These stones just outside the village of Middleton-by-Youlgreave are part of the Sites of Meaning marker stones for the millennium, and they mark the seventeen entrances to the Parish of Middleton and Smerrill in the Peak District.

We passed quite a few of the stones on the walk today, and stopped to read most of them, but the walk was more of a stroll really and was the shortest and slowest I've done for quite a while.  It was marked as Moderate so it should have been ok... but I found it a bit tedious as my legs were itching to go faster.  They said my engine was too big.... but I was probably the youngest by five or ten years.

6 miles
3 hrs approximately
? metres ascent
To save phone battery when running the app I turn off everything that can be turned off.  Today I turned off the GPS as well by mistake after three-quarters of a mile :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.