Having Words

I'm still feeling rather out of it here. I had to go back to the LGI this morning to check in with the surgeon that everything is healing properly. He was happy enough. I then went on something of a grand tour of this massive hospital complex in search of my cycling stuff, which went missing on my journey from ambulance to A&E to being scanned to a ward to theatre and finally to another ward. 

I met again some of the lovely nursing staff who looked after me last week. They remembered me well! Once again, I can't sing their praises enough. There is a feeling that they are up against the odds in terms of resources but are coping with an amazing degree of resilience and cheerfulness. Thank you all so much. You are doing a fantastic job.

One of the nurses came out with a plastic bin bag full of my gear. I knew they had to cut everything off me, so I'd already said goodbye to about £150 worth of clobber, but the goretex lined boots alone were worth more than that, so I was happy to be reunited with those - although by the time I get back on the bike I probably won't need them again until after the summer!

I was feeling a bit worse for wear by the time I left the hospital so decided to go straight home. I took a few candid shots from the hip and, bizarrely and quite inadvertently, captured Forrest in the frame of one of them as he randomly walked past me, both of us in our own little worlds! What are the chances of that? 

I couldn't face going to Tesco and dealing with questions about what had happened to me, so it was a delightful surprise when Muddyshoes popped by this afternoon with a wonderful care package of fruit and dates and yogurts. It could not have been more perfectly chosen. It was lovely to catch up for a bit too. Thanks so much Muddy!

Finally, I couldn't resist posting a street shot today (and a street portrait too, with apologies to the lovely Esther!), as it's not often I get into the city. Words were being spoken to these two, who were handing out some kind of leaflet. I thought I'd go over and try to make some peace ... when I suddenly remembered the delicate state I was in. Let's leave them to it perhaps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.