Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Culture

Julie came about 10am for Archie. She was disappointed to have missed his party, but politely viewed the photos. Next time!

I set to and did a few jobs, including assembling a pile of pipes and tubes (complete with very badly printed - not to mention, vague, instructions) to make a grill thing for the boot to stop Archie coming over into the back seat. Not that he ever would, but in case of an accident...

Then I popped down to the Traverse for one of their lunchtime sessions - A Play, a Pie and a Pint. I was even readying myself for a macaroni pie (the alternative being a haggis pie) as I'd got quite used to them last time. But lo! They now have a whole range of pies! I dithered over the choice, but eventually chose a chicken and leek pie. While not exactly gourmet, it was jolly good enough.

The place was mobbed. I sat with a lady who had come through from Dunfermline, as it was too cold for her to be in the garden today.

Only thing is, the actual theatre is down five sets of stairs. I was thinking about getting back up them at the end, and causing a blockage, then I spotted a wheelchair user who must have come down on a lift. So I went and confessed to having sore knees and I was directed round the bowels of the theatre to the lift and whisked up to street level.

The play was excellent - live theatre is special. And 50 minutes is just about my limit for sitting before my back gets sore. Besides, a pint of lager at lunchtime has a soporific effect... A different play next week. And a different pie.

Archie is just home - he's been to the local pub for a drink (water) and behaved very well. We'll both be ready for a snooze now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.