The end of things

I bought a copy of The Independent at lunchtime. The newsagent told me there will be no more after this coming weekend.

I asked him how many he sold a day. He said they get one or two copies in, and sometimes don't sell those.

I asked him how many copies of The Guardian he sells. Three or four a day. The Telegraph doesn't do much better.

I took for granted the piles of newspapers in newsagents. They were just there every day. But the move to digital (I get a digital version of The Guardian every day), and rolling 24 hour news in all directions (much of it free) has put an end to that.

It feels to me that we are losing something important. I think I am going to start buying more print versions of my favourite  newspaper, whilst it continues to exist. 

Even if the news - as today - is really difficult to read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.