Ombra Della Mattina: The Red Elm and Me

I am not into selfies, but I do enjoy the occasional view of what the world looks like with me in it. It is proof that I was here. On this morning, I made a visit to the Arboretum's red elm, as I often do. This is proof that I was there.

I was tickled by the long, tall shadows the tree and I made together. Look how tall and skinny I am! (As I am a girl who is actually a mere five-foot-two, believe me, this sort of event doesn't happen often.)

A friend commented that this photo reminded her of a statue with a tall, skinny body, called the Ombra Della Sera (Italian for "shadow of the evening"). So I am calling this shot Ombra Della Mattina: shadow of the morning.

I have not ever gone close enough to touch the red elm, as there are signs around the tree noting how tender its roots are, and asking visitors to stay off and away from the tree. So this is the only photo that exists (or ever will) of me touching the red elm. Wasn't it a lovely moment that we had together?

I also had the thought that I looked like I was holding up the red elm, or perhaps the sky itself. What can I say? I am woman! I hold up the other half of the sky!

The soundtrack: John Lennon, with Woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.