Rest and Recuperation

This view will be immediately recognised by anyone from Ilkley. The building is home to the town's two medical practices. I've never had much cause to come visit over the years, but I know it well as I used to live literally opposite. It was constructed just after we moved in and I was initially staggered at the size of the place. It looked big enough to be a whole new hospital - before realising, once finally entering, that it's mostly empty space, the reception areas sitting in a huge atrium. Perhaps it was designed such that all the bugs people bring in with them rise out of harm's way. Even if not, it still makes for a more pleasant than normal waiting experience.

I was there today to have my stitches removed, all achieved quite painlessly. I am still feeling very delicate though. After touching base with the office on the phone, I ended up sleeping almost all afternoon. The body seems to know exactly what it needs right now. I'm not fighting - for once. Too many people (thank you everyone) have told me how important it is to rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.