A Thursday in Madeira before Easter

How different and similar life in different parts of the world can be!

Today we went on another Levada walk in the North East Corner of Madeira.  Very rural.  Much evidence of people cultivating their land and beginning to appreciate the warming sunshine.

Towards the end of the walk, we passed these Madeiran people sitting in this shelter outside their house obviously relaxing after a busy day.  I signalled to them to ask if I could take this and the woman on the left signalled her agreement.  I just loved the way that inside has come outside for these people, in a community where many of the houses have so much of their living space outdoors still.

I wonder how long this way of life will last.  Is this contentment or resignation?  I don't know.  I wonder if these people have ever left Madiera, or even their home village?

Just down the lane from this outdoor room, I found the extra, I hope you like him/her.

Just down the lane a little further, we found a little bar where the owner makes his own Madeira.  It was very tasty and I suspect it is a good deal stronger than the Madeira you can buy in the normal bars!

And so our Madeira trip is coming to an end.  It's been a great experience to come here and I'm sure we will come back one day in the not too distant future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.