My Father's Favourite Flower

Dad loved wallflowers. Also known as gillyflowers. Not only do they bring colour in the Spring, they have an intoxicatingly exotic scent. Well, exotic to me.

He also liked chrysanthemums in the Autumn, which were also richly and similarly coloured. He never tried to grow dahlias. I don't think he had enough time to look after them properly.

I saw these while walking with Basil to the bus stop. We went to see Mr Aziz in Loughborough, as usual, then did some shopping on the market. I found a replacement peg bag made in a lovely William Morris style fabric. Len was pleased.

To ELAPs this evening where I was asked to give some vocal coaching to Iniquita, the sorceress, in the Juniors' production of Sinbad. I despaired that she would take any notice but much to my amazement, she was staggeringly good on her second entrance. That sort of success always gives you a fillip.

Tried some colour replacement on a white robe in a photo on Photoshop when I came home. Useless. The result looks utterly artificial. The colour may be replaced but also the texture in the robe. So that photo will have to remain a rejected photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.