An Old Favourite

On the way to Nottingham this evening for a performance of The Snow Maiden by Opera North at Theatre Royal, I paused to take a photo of Ratcliffe on Soar power station gently steaming away. The light was more diffused than last night when it had been much more contrasty, thus suiting the 'Leica' more.

The staff at the theatre very kindly allowed me into the back seats of the stalls, the better to accommodate my poorly knee which got cramp in the upper circle last night. More room in the stalls.

Thoroughly enjoyed  the opera which was well costumed, well sung and well staged. I wondered at one point if the conductor's head would fly off, he was being so energetic.

I left early enough to get the earlier tram back to Clifton South.

Was delighted to recognise the overture at the beginning of the second half. A very lively and joyous dance tune from Rimsky-Korsakov. This opera is so rarely performed that I feel privileged to have seen it. I didn't feel that the stage was big enough for the company, but they managed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.