A Bus Ride to Lyttelton

I asked John if he would go for a walk and he suggested getting the bus to Lyttelton. So that's what we did.

This is the first time I have used my Gold Card. We found it was a little warmer in Lyttelton than Christchurch. We had a good walk around and after a coffee we made our way to the bus stop. I was amazed how many people were using the buses today.

There was a bit of sea fog over the harbour which affected some of my shots. You can see in my collage there are some lovely cute cottages there. 

The blue/grey building you can see in my collage, Top Left is to be saved and the buyer plans to restore this historic building. The building, which was built in 1881 as the Kilwinning Masonic Lodge, was Bill Hammond's home and studio from 2000. It was damaged in the 2011 earthquakes and has been empty since. 

Bill Hammond is one of New Zealand's most-celebrated contemporary artists, known for his human figures with bird-like heads. He has set up a new studio in a former vicarage in Lyttelton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.