Award Winning Fish and Chips

Summer arrived in Sandend this morning at 6 am with a showy flourish of yellow sun shining from a perfect blue sky. It lasted all of 6 hours until midday when the clouds crept in from the west and the day became brightly overcast but still mild and windless.

His Lordship and I walked along the old railway line from Cullen to Portknockie, passing the golf course and acres of fine beach with people out, making the most of the weather and the Good Friday holiday. There were even jackets being discarded it was that warm.
This beach is the self same one I came to with my family in 1947, to have one of our first holidays after the war. Little did I think then, with my pigtails and sandals , cut off at the toes, that nearly 70 years later I would be walking past the self same spot.
Continuity means a lot to me.

The last night of a seaside holiday merits a fish supper en plein air. Despite the rising wind with gusts threatening to blow the wine and mushy peas off the picnic table, the experience was voted a success as we sat overlooking Cullen Harbour in the company of a single seagull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.