FROM MY COLLECTION

of home made book covers (not by me, however)
I choose this pretty one for this Flower Friday Challenge, hosted with so much enthusiasm by BikerBear.
I have lots of these books, collected them mainly in Brussels, at the time when my father and I bought there almost every week loads of second-hand and antiquarian books for our bookshop.
I had not a clear idea why I collected them. They simply costed nothing, and I was attracted by the curious bindings.
I sometimes wondered who were the persons who took the trouble of rebind their purchases. Different, I think, of the way schoolchildren bind their schoolbooks to protect them.
The whole day it was pretty sombre, the weather. It rained and we did not bother to go for a walk. This happens nearly never.
At three o'clock in the afternoon the sound of the church bells. Minutes of attention, ever since my youth.

My haiku:

Flowers painted on
Cloth, to cheer one up reading
The contents inside

And the proverb:

One flower makes no garland

1640  Herbert,  342.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.