Primula capitata

Today's the day ......................... to get eaten

I'm showing you this lovely little Asiatic primrose while it's still in one piece.

I was given some by my friend Roma several years ago and they have thrived in our garden.  This is a bit of a miracle - because as soon as the flower appears, the slugs and snails move in and consume it with a passion.  In my opinion, the problem lies in the fact that the flower starts to open before the plant has managed to hoist it up on its long stalk.  Once it's up there, it's much safer - but the damage has been done by then.  In fact, you can see they've already started on this one, bottom left.

I don't think that Mother Nature really thought this one through ....................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.