A leisurely start to the day

Unusually for me I was awake for a time in the middle of the night, and the consequence of that was that I slept later than usual and awoke after the sunrise. Nevertheless, there was enough colour and beauty in the sky and on the water to warrant a photo or three.

At the time of taking this photo from the point of our land closest to the cliff edge, I had forgotten that today is the day that we are encouraged to have a blip meet. And also had temporarily forgotten the suggestion of laurie54 that we post with a standard link via tag to a virtual blip meet. 

I had actually used the tag yesterday, functioning as if yesterday was Saturday, being so used to only not being at work on the weekends. So forgive me for using the tag a second time, as I am really happy that blipfoto has survived the ups and downs (mostly downs) of the last couple of years. I am also happy that together we have ensured at least another year, and hope that the effort made in the last few months will keep on as I wish to keep on.

I started on blipfoto at the suggestion of my son (also a blipper; tsuken) more than five years ago. I was aware that I was "expected" by him to do a 365 project, but my conscious aim was to take photos when out on a run, figuring that I would stop and have a built in excuse for stopping to give to him.

The welcoming attitude of the community was such that I have not missed a day since the first post in November 2010. I have developed a better eye for what may make a good photo. I have accepted that many of my photos are not while I run (especially in the last few months when running has not been possible). I have created little projects for myself, and joined one or two started by others.

Particularly I have enjoyed the One Street project, and was happy to be able to buy a copy of the book "Blue Moon Over Thurman Street", both reommended by Kendall of Kendall is here. She is one of the many real friends I have made on this site. From disparate places. With disparate backgrounds. And with a fellow feeling that has welcomed and benefitted me. Despite not meeting them (you) I feel I know you and care what happens to you; there is nothing virtual about it.

I have discovered how satisfying it is to take good photos of birds. The pleasure of finding a new painted electronics box. Seeking out public or street art and sculpture. And my latest challenge to myself is searching for a good way to photograph each of the more than 50 volcanoes in the Auckland region. A way to go yet.

All of this is only possible because blipfoto provided me with a basis to begin and the support of wonderful people to keep going.

Thank you laurie54

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.