Surprise!

The long and short of it is that I was expecting mum and Rory to arrive tomorrow so I was a little surprised when mum texted me to say she was on her way. I took this to mean that she was packing and replied that I would ring her tonight if she was around, to which she said "I'm on the train now, darling!!!" I hadn't sparkled the flat! I texted Fred to hide all the pants since I'd hung the washing around the flat (nothing will dry outside in this nonsense weather).

So, it was a lovely surprise to see mum and Rory a day early. I was, of course, in the wrong and mum had told me all the right dates. Even my brother Scott knew they were arriving today (I normally have to remind him of events). Ah well.

We won't talk about the journey from King's Cross to my flat. Suffice to say that I hope the transport system bucks up for the Olympics. Mind you, no Olympic events are being held in my neck of the woods so perhaps it will be OK if no one needs to reach here.

We settled back in the flat (all pants out of sight) with fish and chips and grand company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.