Friends

We had been due to go down to London today for Miss E's birthday but an atrocious weather forecast and an invitation to go rollerskating with four of their friends and an Easter Egg hunt in the village tomorrow changed our plans and I cancelled the hotel.
Ironically after the events in Brussels earlier in the week I had been nervous about going to London but we had decided to go anyway and just avoid the underground. When I saw the forecast was for two days of wind and rain I gave Miss E the choice and she decided to postpone.
Mr K took them to swimming first thing. There was only one other girl in Miss E's class so she had a very personal lesson! She tried out for the next level up and passed. Woohoo!!!!! She wanted to keep her lesson on a Saturday morning so she could carry on seeing her friend Miss A but unfortunately she doesn't like the teacher of the new class. Last time she had him she refused to go after a few weeks and we had to change the lesson. We'll see what happens this time!
After lunch we headed to Milton Keynes to meet Mrs Z, Mrs C, Miss A, Mr L, Mr R and Mr H for an hour at the roller disco! 
It was ace! Loud music, flashing lights, hundreds of mad children zooming around on skates..... What could go wrong?!!!!
Miss E was in her element skating around, joining in the tag games, doing the limbo! Miss L struggled a bit - apart from wearing Miss E's skates around the house a few times she's never skated before and on the wooden floor she struggled to keep her balance.
Mr K and I did our best to hold her up/drag her round/stop her breaking her neck. 
Luckily one of the lovely staff skaters took pity on us all and helped Miss L along. Teaching her to stick her bum out and find her balance. By the end she more or less had the hang of it.
Unfortunately right at the end I fell over backwards and landed really hard, hurting my bum, hips and wrist. I practically crawled out like an old lady and may have to visit the physio! But at least I had kept Miss L upright - ever selfless Mummy that I am!!
We went with Mrs C and the boys to Waitrose cafe over the road and I nursed my injuries with peppermint tea and a coronation chicken sandwich.
There are some terrible extras showing the Little Misses skating. It's bloody hard taking photos and skating at the same time. I may have taken out a small child in the process!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.