Chocolate, Chocolate Everywhere!!

It was a nice surprise to look at my phone when I woke up this morning and see that the time was 8.30am. It's been a while since I've slept that "late"!!
I'd completely forgotten that the clocks went forward last night. Even 7.30am is pretty good going for the Little Misses at the moment!
After last year's big fat fail at the village Easter Egg hunt (we went late and they'd packed up early!!) we were there in good time this morning!
The Little Misses had to find five cards showing different coloured eggs hidden in the churchyard and church. Then take all the cards into the village hall to claim their prize. There was also ONE golden egg to be found which won a special prize. It was brilliant watching them scurry around searching.
They found all five colours pretty quickly but they wouldn't give up until they'd found the golden egg.
I must admit I wasn't about to give up until they did either. They are their mother's daughters!!!!
I had an overwhelming certainty it was in the church and we all hunted high and low. Suddenly while we were chatting to a neighbour Miss E called that she'd found it!! 
Whoop whoop!!!!!!!
I'd looked right where she found it but I'd missed it. Clever little sausage!
We walked back to the hall (see extras) and there was a fabulous chorus of oohs and aahhs when she walked in with it. It was like she'd found Wonka's Golden Ticket!! She was so chuffed! 
Although - being Miss E - she also said she felt sad that other people would be looking for it and it wasn't there to find. Bless her!
They got a couple of eggs each for their normal cards and Miss E got an extra one for finding the golden one. I was hoping for a bit more prize and a bit less chocolate but naturally Miss E was giddy!
Not as giddy as they both were once they'd tucked into this little lot!
When Nana and Papa arrived later we went out roller skating and cycling to try and burn off some energy.
Then there was some Charlie and the Chocolate Factory action (Gene Wilder rather than Johnny Depp) some Frustration and Guess Who,  some swinging, climbing, den hiding and rain dancing in the garden, and a scrummy roast lamb dinner. My first attempt at a shoulder of lamb - a success, and a delicious Eton Mess. I feel like a proper grown up hosting Christmas and Easter!!
When my mum and dad left I jumped in the bath and left Mr K to get the sugar-crazed Little Misses to bed. Then we forced down a bit more chocolate and watched Twilight. 
Ha ha, just how Mr K loves to spend an evening!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.