Return to the North

By Viking

Light and dark

After a lot of interesting experiences over recent years where I have felt the presence of a being greater than me at work in my life, I have started to explore my 'faith'. This s all still very new and confused in many ways and I am by no means a rampaging Christian Soldier yet, but it is an exploration none the less. 
So today I went to Church. I went to the Baptist Church first in Oxford but I could see it was a large congregation and I wasn't comfortable waling in amongst them so instead I headed out to a village Anglican Church. Much quieter :-)
I won't bore you or proselytise but one segment of the sermon struck home. Here in NZ a group of parents are suing to get 'Bible in Schools' banned from the classroom. There is no current religious curriculum in schools here (unless a faith school) and I have no issue with that being the case (other than it breeds ignorance of faiths amongst children and it is certainly apparent amongst adults here) Bible in Schools is an organisation that goes into schools (by agreement and children have lessons, also by agreement with parents and school, on the basic tenets of Christianity)

I don't want to get into a debate about the rights and wrongs of this issue but part of the sermon highlighted how these same people were quite happy to hijack the Easter 'traditions', the chocolate eggs and the free holiday that comes with the CHRISTIAN festival of Easter. The same can be said of Christmas too. 
It also made me think of the flag issue here in NZ. The same people who want to rid themselves of the Union Jack because of what it represents are then heard bleating about how NZ deserve a 'special relationship' with the UK as far as immigration is concerned (NZ'ers might have to pay for medical help etc in the UK from now on) 
The hypocrisy of both makes me chuckle. I suppose it is but human nature

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.