TIME FOR A SAUSAGE SANDWICH

Neil's girlfriend Rachael invited me to join them on their usual Sunday visit to the market held on the Quayside in Newcastle.  She doesn't have any family in the area and wanted to have some family time on Easter Sunday.  So I met them in Gateshead and we walked down to the market.  Usual first stop for them is the sausage sandwich stall.  In my blip shot they are sitting on the steps of The Law Courts.  I resisted the temptation to have a sandwich.  It wasn't easy.  Neil bought a pack of  Geordie Chorizo Sausages  and they are now in my fridge ready and waiting for his next visit.

We wandered along the river and had a drink in The Tyne Bar.  Then carried on to Ouseburn.  The weather was lovely - bright sunshine and quite warm.  We decided to head for Leazes Park.

However as soon as we got to the Park the heavens opened.  So we made a dash for The Strawberry pub which is opposite the Newcastle football ground.  I have passed this pub many times but never been in - its always jam packed on match day.  It was quite empty today.  We sat for a while, had a drink ( Neil had Newcastle Brown Ale )  and got nice and warm.

Then off to Zizzi for a meal.  The rain wasn't so bad by now.  Zizzi was also quite empty.  I usually have a salad in Zizzi but I needed something warm today so chose chicken and mushroom risotto.  I had a coupon for 25% discount on each of our meals.  AND a coupon for a free pud for all of us.  So I decided to forget the Slimming World Plan for the day and I had Banana and Salted Caramel Sundae - it was yummy.

Then I got the bus home and Neil and Rachael walked back over the river to Gateshead where Rachael lives.  She is off to Ireland tomorrow to spend a few days with her family. 

I have been very tired this evening.  Fallen asleep a couple of times.  I need an early night - but I bet I don't get one.

Steps today - 15,883

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.