Portrait of the Artist ....

An exciting morning out looking for holy wells. I had two in my sights and the first was in virgin territory. We squelched over bog, climbed over gates, ducked under barbed wire and got stuck on brambles. We passed violets and primroses and also a dead horse. The well was at the side of the stream but as we got closer the vegetation got thicker. I even tried wading down the stream but in the end, though we were upon it according to the GPS, I cannot honesty say that we found it - very frustrating. An eye well too.
The second well was much more accessible and I just wanted some more photos. This is Dromnea Well, also know as the Poet's Well, as it's very close to an old Bardic School and rumour has it that one in particular, Aeongus O Dalaigh, drank the water for inspiration. Frustratingly, I can't find where I read that information but I'm sure it's true!
Here I captured the artist in residence. To see his sketch look here
Yes, that is the well and yes, it is quite a remote spot. Dedication as well as accomplishment.

This will do nicely for the MonoMonday challenge - portrait. Thanks to Trisharooni  for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.