Lilly #3

At least I'm getting some mileage out of my Easter Lilly--I bought it because they always smell so good, but this one doesn't smell at all!! I'm wondering if they did something to them, like developing some kind of long-lasting, non-smelling hybrid!  So disappointing, although the blooms themselves are really pretty! 
I spent all morning at my friend Barb's house....she came home via ambulance on Saturday & is in hospice care now. Once I got there I told her husband that if he needed to go do shopping or just wanted to get out for a bit that I'd stay however long he needed, so he gratefully left her in my care while he did some much needed grocery shopping. She's alert in that she recognizes people, and awake enough that she knows when I'm joking with her (& still manages to roll her eyes and laugh a bit), but overall her memory has really suffered. She also has difficulty finding words, repeating many of the same words over and over--similar to people that have suffered certain kinds of strokes. It could be the meds or even a low oxygen level, but I was just happy to have the opportunity to sit and talk a bit when she was awake. 
Tonight I'm going to the memorial service for the dad of another of my friends. You'd think it would be such a depressing day, but it wasn't! I was happy to spend time with my long-time friend, who painstakingly told me how blessed she is that she got to come home for awhile, & my other friend's dad had such a strong faith too....it's very uplifting, & just makes me feel so very grateful for friends, for health, for life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.