'You can take the lass out of Yorkshire...'

On this occasion I don't mean me, but the wonderful Kiwilizzie who put the kettle on for us this morning (and it was Yorkshire tea too!). We spent a lovely relaxed couple of hours in Liz's company talking blip and generally setting the world of education in both countries to rights, thank you for your hospitality Liz and do drop by when you are next over!
Then it was in to Christchurch as the beginning of the end of our holiday adventure must commence. We parked up in our campsite and made the mistake of walking in to the city centre, which took us an hour alongside traffic heavy roads. Our lungs are used to the fresh air of the great NZ outdoors and it was with some relief that we reached the centre and found a smashing little fair trade cafe on what resembled a New Orleans street, just off Cathedral Square. I don't know what I expected to feel about the centre but I came away saddened because one has to wonder if it will ever quite regain itself despite all the construction and community work going on to keep it alive. We stopped off at the big out of town mall on the way in and it was heaving with folks. Here's hoping they will return to the centre eventually. So my blip of the wall artwork sort of sums up the feeling I came away with.
And now it's the big clean up of Oscar the Van.....
Tony took a blip of Liz and me so the rules won't let me post it, but I'll try put up a link, wi fi permitting, later on.

https://flic.kr/p/ERJMLa

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.