pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

The Assembly House, Norwich

Or better known as the Assembly Rooms. This building on Theatre Street has origins dating back to 1248, according to Wikipedia.

What we see now, was mainly built in the 1750s as a 'House of Assemblies' where events were held for the gentry of Norwich. Later it was used by the Girls Public Day School. After the war, it was restored and opened as a centre for entertainment, and now? I think it is mainly cream teas and a posh restaurant. It comes highly recommended. I did visit many years ago, when camping at Hautbois with the Linton Guides, on our shopping in Norwich day. It was 1997. Time I visited again i think!

Busy day at work, and collected Mollie on my way home. Thankfully dinner was in the oven, and we passed Jon as he headed out for a planning meeting with scouts. Hopefully I'll see him before tomorrow. Now its Grantchester!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.