Hare Saying Its Prayers

I flushed a covey of partridges as I got out of the car at Lodge Farm this evening, the second of the day as Jazzy and I had startled some at home this morning. A herd of deer was across the valley way in the distance and I played with apertures to get them and a tree that I was shooting them through in focus.

As I walked along the farm track my attention was caught by the deer suddenly running, then, through my long lens, I saw two men walking in the middle of the field where there is no footpath. I thought at first it was the farmer walking his crop. Then my lens picked up three large lurcher-type dogs racing up the hill. I realised that they were chasing a hare. The dogs were very close to it at first but luckily the hare drew away from the dogs on the steep incline and at the top shot off at a right angle leaving the dogs behind. I suppose this could have been an incident of dogs getting a bit over-excited whilst out walkies but I believe I have witnessed hare coursing which is illegal and a horrible bloodsport. I hope I'm wrong as I love to see and photograph the hares here.

After this episode I saw two more hares, both well in the distance. My hare might well say its prayers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.