She Didn't Want To Be Ducked

The coal tit was singing its heart out this morning. It's difficult to get a decent shot as it perches right at the top of the trees. Broadband still dropping out, birdies still building. Quite sunny and warm but definitely not the warmest day of the year here as forecast. Jazzy and I spent a long time hunting and playing ball.

I stood by the lake and watched a pair of male mallards swimming purposefully towards a female. They were joined by another male. I thought I knew what was going to happen. I expected frantic joint treading and the female struggling to breathe. She was having none of it and took to the air followed by her suitors. :)

Today's poem is To My Wife by JV Cunningham. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/42709

I like, "To the simplicity of time, The antiquity of grace," I also like his old-fashioned, simple, rhyming style.  

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.