Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Patience is a butterfly

This little ringlet butterfly made me wait.
I was heading home with pictures of grass and slugs... Yes, really!... Apparently it's a nice day today. Well, not here it's not! It's windy, dark and misty here .... And there's a distinct absence of the buzzing and swarming of proper summer nature. It's frighteningly lifeless.
Anyway.... I was less than a minute from the house, in a sulk, with rubbish nothingness photos (unless you like slugs), when this little thing fluttered around me. I waited, and waited, and waited for it to land, pretty convinced I was wasting my time and it wouldn't settle in the damp. But I kept my eye on it anyway - just in case - and it finally took a break.

Every butterfly sighting has felt like a gift this year - there have been so few. But this one in particular felt special on an unlikely day.

Thanks to taking up photography I have learnt to look out for these little things and watch and wait. I feel so much more closely connected to the world in which I live. It SO isn't about humans and yet humans are going around thinking it is.

I wish I'd done this sooner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.