Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Winter and spring

Today I liked this.  In fact, I liked it so much I stood around getting cold for about 10 minutes waiting for the sun to light it up a little.

What attracted me - apart from what I thought were really rather wonderful colours - was the combination of winter and spring flowering/fruiting plant and lichens.  The lichens I always think of as being at their best in later winter and of course the pinkish buds, tightly furled but preparing to burst, are wonderful blackthorn blossoms set to turn the hedgerows white any week now.

And all of this packed into only a couple of inches of twig!

It is Thursday today, isn't it?  I am getting so muddled about the days this week, I don't know why.  But perhaps if I say, "Very happy Thursday evening to you and a happy April fool Friday to you tomorrow," I will not only mean it but remember what day we're on!

Happy Thursday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.