Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...365 Blips in an unbroken row!

While yesterday was my 365th, today marks the 365th consecutive blip for me! I didn't set out to do this on Day 1, or even on Day 3. Somewhere along the way, doing 100 became a goal, then 200 ... and you know the rest. I'm now on my way to 500. I want to take a moment to thank Lorenzo who nudged me to check Blip out in the first place, and to Sue who also told me how much fun Blip was.

I was going to blip the hummers yesterday because it was they who got me interested in photographing birds last year. But, Mimsy was being completely adorable yesterday and I felt that I had to give in to her demands. The Hummers weren't happy, but they are easily distracted with nectar and all was soon forgiven. Today, P-Hummie himself decided that he would be the Blip. His rival male was no match for P, nor were the teenagers who swooped and chattered. He showed up flashing his red gorget and I was a goner. I liked this particular shot because you can see his belly coloration which is quite splendid. No plain buff belly for our P-Hummie, no sirree!

I got some cool shots of a young female (I think) red bellied woodpecker defending the suet against a blue jay. Young though she may be, she has learned well from her parents and the blue jay was soon high in the tree, waiting his turn. Miss RBW took her sweet time relishing the suet. If you'd care to have a look, The four best shots are here:
RBW in defense mode, hissing at blue jay above her
Engaged in face to face confrontation with Jay
Jay giving up the suet and ready to head to high ground
RBW enjoying well deserved nosh

I'm a bit blown away by the responses to yesterday's blip ... thank you! Mimsy made it to the corner position of the Spotlight - a first for me, and high in the Favourites page as well. Quite a bit of acclaim for a very small rodent who lives under a hose. I'm feeling a bit humbled, and chuffed, all at the same time. Big thanks to the folks at Blip Central for making this such a great place to hang out. And thanks to all of you for being so much fun to hang out with!

Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.