Stoneywell Daffodils

Stoneywell Cottage on Charnwood Forest is only 4-5 miles from me, and has been open for a year, but it wasn't until today that I visited. That was only because someone had told me the daffodils were marvellous.

They are. There are masses of them all over the grounds. I should have taken a long lens to get a better impression of them being closer together. Amazing how they were all pointing south.

The weather had turned grey again and there was a nasty, nippy breeze. The volunteers urged me to return to see the flaming red chilli trees in May.

I had to leave Basil at home because the grounds are not as spacious as those of other NT properties and dogs are not allowed. One of the volunteers explained that when the house opened to the public in February last year, the grass paths were verdant. They are already becoming worn and slippery in parts.

I waited in the woodlands where there was a convenient vantage point to take a photo of the cottage and espied a bluebell in flower. Then another, and another. I could swear they were pushing through while I was waiting.

Before you ramble off from the bus set-down point, you need to register as either a member or non-member of the National Trust. Non-members have to pay. When I gave my name, the lady exclaimed, 'Sue Hutton, of Shepshed Camera Club! I've seen your photos in the paper!' Which was very gratifying. There's even one photo in this week.

Read the historical background to Stoneywell Cottage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.