Black Swan

I met my sister and nephew at Hanningfield reservoir today. We had a nice lunch on the deck by the lake then went for a lovely long walk. Neither of them had been in a hide before and I explained the etiquette.

My pic is of a black swan. I love its red beak and eye and lovely ruffled plumage. I've never seen or photographed one before. They're natives of Australia but have been introduced to grace ornamental lakes and some have escaped. Very few breed in the UK. 

At one time people thought there was no such thing as a black swan and this gave rise to the black swan theory which is a metaphor that describes an event that comes as a surprise, has a major effect, and is often inappropriately rationalised after the fact with the benefit of hindsight.


I saw my first greylag gosling of the season and have added it to extras. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.