Shadow Boxing

I wasn't worried about Jazzy dog anymore so had a good night's sleep and was up with the lark. After making Jazz her chicken omelette I went to Lodge Farm very early and the larks were on song. What a sublime sound it is. Not sure whether the pair I've added to extras are courting or fighting. I got a great pic of Kes still asleep in his nest box on the barn. As his head was under his wing I haven't posted it. The early morning light was catching a window and a web in the derelict farm buildings. (Extras)

I captured a pair of red-legged partridges trotting up the concrete path and then I spotted what I had come to see. Hares at play. A pair were in the distance. The one in my main pic stopped on the skyline for a bit of shadow boxing. Maybe it was shaking the dew off its paws? I've included another in extras which came a bit closer in the field of beans. Mornings like this make one's heart burst as it is, coupled with the relief that my dog is OK I was ecstatic.

Today's poem is The Gateway by AD Hope. https://www.poetrylibrary.edu.au/poets/hope-a-d/the-gateway-0559003

I thought at first it was a more cerebral Barbara Baker's Spike Of Green that my daughter recited at the Cambridge Festival Of Speech And Drama when she was at primary school.

"When I went out
The sun was hot
It shone upon
My flower pot.
And there I saw
A spike of green
That no one else
Had ever seen!
On other days
The things I see
Are mostly old
Except for me.
But this green spike
So new and small
Had never yet
Been seen at all!"

Sort of. My book doesn't give the full title. Spring Arousal - The Gateway. There's a clue. It describes the physical act of human love from the male perspective. I'm struggling with that 'tenement' on the tip. :) The poem appears in a book called Intimate Kisses: The Poetry Of Sexual Pleasure. I prefer those that come before and after it. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.