Doggie Peter Pans

I went to Lodge Farm quite early this morning on a hare hunt. I didn't spot my quarry. :( It was lovely to hear the skylarks though and I captured a large flock of meadow pipits. Kes was on the wing and I got a distant shot of a buzzard on a telegraph pole. 

I caught sight of some peewits (lapwings) in the distance wheeling in the air. I thought at first they were doing their courtship kamikaze flight but then spotted a crow. They were harrying it, I presume it had been after their eggs or chicks. 

When I was nearly back to the car the ex Police dog handler who I have met here before arrived with her lovely flat-coated retriever show dogs. I read up about them and these dogs retain their youthful, puppy-like outlook into old age and are know as the Peter Pans of retriever breeds as they never quite grow up. "The Flat-Coated Retriever is a "natural" breed and enjoys partaking in "natural" activities such as rolling in feces, playing in mud, and digging." :)       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.