Graffiti or Civic Art?

I pass these grain silos every time I am on the freeway and finally got around to looking for the road that passes them where I could stop and take a picture of the illustration on one of them. I seem to be attracted to things that are next to the railroad tracks. A fence has been built next to the tracks to "educate" people to the fact that there will be trains running on these tracks despite the fact that they have been testing the cars, the signals and the schedules and there have been trains on the tracks for months.

The little birds that used to flock around our bird feeders, emptying a large one every day, have almost disappeared. I think I discovered the reason today when two crows, apparently nesting in an oak tree near the feeders raucously drove  a screaming hawk out of "their" tree. It flew off to the very tall eucalyptus trees in the neighbors' yard. We have heard the hawks for several days, so I think they must have a nest in the eucalyptus. Much as I love watching them soar over our front lawn, the crows and the hawks both prey on baby birds. I wonder where the owls are? 

Never mind how many spider webs I cleared out of the inside of our house today. Doors and screens don't seem to have much effect on keeping them out, judging from the fact that enough insects apparently fly into their webs to sustain the spiders.

Never a dull moment in the country….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.