Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

How you doin'?

I never had kids and have honestly never considered myself to be particularly maternal ... but I just love my grand-nephews.  This is Nathan, who recently turned one and is, frankly,  cuter than a button.  I could take photos of him all day.  I guess I'm not much different in that regard than any other great aunt.  

We had breakfast with everyone this morning (fantastic oatmeal/blueberry pancakes with cinnamon made by my nephew's wife) and then, reluctantly, headed north.  We had an easy drive up to NJ, only about 4.5 hours under mostly clear skies.  

When we arrived home, our two cherry trees were in full bloom - always wonderful to see.  Temps are quite cool, so surprisingly few bees.  I only saw a very few bumble bees but a surprising number of honeybees.  I think it's going to be a good year for the honeybees.  While I was stalking bees around the cherry tree, I heard the sweet song of the bluebirds and saw Monsieur sitting on a branch in the garden.  Several red-winged blackbirds were also singing their spring song from the maple trees - no doubt wishing I'd go inside so they could visit the feeders.  

The forecast for tomorrow is for high winds and... wait for it... snow.  Crap.  No significant accumulations are expected, but it is going to be cold and ... snowing.  YUCK.  I'm pretty sure I won't be photographing any bees tomorrow.  

Thanks for all your lovely comments on my photo yesterday - unexpected and very much appreciated.

TTFN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.