Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cherry blossoms - yum!

In spite of frigid temps (mid-30's F) and winds gusting to 30 MPH, the blossoms have stayed on the trees and the chilly blipper has been able to capture a moment or two during quick sorties into the yard.  Every spring when our cherry trees bloom, the House Finches pluck and eat blossoms - apparently the nectar in the flowers is very nutritious.  And I never begrudge them noshing on some blossoms - it's actually good for the trees to be pruned in this manner.  All good.

Anyway, I was lucky enough to get a couple of relatively good shots of this behavior today so thought I'd make this my blip.  I posted three shots of various birds in the cherry trees on Flickr, starting HERE.  And since my day started with Monsieur Bluebird singing in the garden, I've also posted a shot of him, HERE, in all his glorious blueness.

Based on the weather forecast for the next few days, it's entirely possible our cherry trees will quickly loose their blooms. The snow that was predicted didn't happen, but now the weather people are saying we will get temps in the 20's for the next few nights.  This is a great concern for the fruit farmers in this area, especially those who have apple and pear trees and blueberry bushes - all of them are in bloom earlier than usual this year and a hard frost will decimate the crops.  

Kind of a lazy day today other than a few quick trips outside, and a leisurely call with my parents this morning.  Salmon and a salad for dinner tonight and probably early to bed.  

Thanks for the sweet comments on my grand-nephew - he really is such a cutie, and so lovable.  I'm glad we live close enough to be able to see he and his parents fairly regularly.  Moments to cherish.

TTFN, people.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.