Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Chiff chaff?

A sunny morning on a day off means a day out somewhere new :)
This time I headed over to Marbury Country Park towards Northwich. Never been here before but it looked like a good place to go for a walk and to see some new birds.
The first hide I came upon was at Budworth Mere and gave me a few glimpses of the beautiful kingfisher in flight, some buzzards, a couple of great crested grebes in the distance courting and the usual tits and finches at the feeder. A great start.
Then I went to the woodland hide and was surprised to see the bird feeders almost empty and not a lot of action initially, but I waited a while, all alone, and was rewarded with a Greater Spotted Woodpecker who came down to investigate the state of the feeders. Some nice looking long tailed tits, a lovely song thrush, a tiny wren, a nuthatch and the usual tits and robin also decided to pay a visit too.
Finally I wanted to go the Haydn's Pool where there were a couple of other hides, but I got a bit lost along the way. So after a bit of a detour by the canal, I eventually found it. On the way there I saw this pretty little bird and I don't know what it is. I looked it up when I got home and decided that it could be a Chiff Chaff......
First I thought it was a Cetti's Warbler(as they are supposed to be present here), but I think the tail is all wrong.

Anyway, if anyone can positively identify it, I'd be very grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.