A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

In the woods.

A wet and muddy walk this morning. It was our usual 'deer' walk but they were in short supply, we only actually saw one.

There were lots of wet horses mainly gathered around the gates and stiles awaiting their morning feed but making passage around them quite difficult if not scary.

Coming back through the St Ives woods above the main car park I noticed another of these wood erections. They are very common in this particular area and I often wonder why they are here. I imagine that groups of scouts or something similar come to build bivouacs or something similar as makeshift shelters. Perhaps there is something more mundane than that and it's just a way to tidy up some of the branches lying around. I don't think they are bonfires as in my many years of walking here I've never seen evidence of then being burned.
They only occur in this area of the St Ives Estate which is the. Last accessible,from the road and car park which leads me to think that someone comes specifically to make them.
Who knows? Perhaps I never will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.