Obsession

It would be remiss of me in a daily diary not to mention the current obsession, not just my obsession but one that is gripping a certain section of the population. I've been following it for the couple of years since it started and the last few months have been painful, hard to listen to but unmissable.  And so my guilty pleasure has been listening to it in bed at night, every night except Saturday that is.  And then last Sunday night - well who would have anticipated that? Sleepless I was after that and it was the main chat yesterday morning.

The obsession of course is the domestic abuse storyline on 'The Archers' and like many I've railed at Rob and screamed at Helen, to get out.  And now she's in jail, accused, and things look bad especially as the, female, detective thinks she's guilty.  But we, the listeners, know the truth.  And someone has already offered their mobile phone recording as evidence, not to mention the sums donated to rescue Helen that will go to Refuge, a domestic abuse charity.  It's been gripping and difficult and challenging so next week I'll be listening to it at odd times of the day and night once I get to KL.

And the picture - William Ewart Gladstone, born in Liverpool, but a son of Leith. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.