Southern Sky over Ti Kouka

Another beautiful day turned into a cool clear night, so after getting back from quiz night down at the local bar, I decided to set up my camera up by the two bay shed to grab a night sky shot.

The cabbage trees here are illuminated by the downward facing outside light on the shed, which I then turned off after a few seconds in the exposure. I was going to use a speed light or torch to do light painting, but I preferred the warmer tones of the tungsten lamp.

This view is the southern part of the sky, around 11.30pm, with the pointer stars of Hadar and Rigil Kent in the  centre of the image, curving up right towards the Southern Cross (Crux), the dark patch of the Coalsack Nebula and the bright Eta Carinae towards the top of the picture.

EXIF info is off again (I forgot to change the non-cpu setting back to 12mm) so this is at ISO3200, 12mm, f/2.2, 25 secs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.