Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fine Art Portrait Workshop

Today I went up to Highbury (north London) where I attended a Fine Art Portrait Workshop run by Aspire Photography. They are a Cumbrian based photography training centre who have trained many professional photographers, and I have been wanting to do one of their workshops for a few years but the dates never seemed to work.

Fine art portraits seem to have a certain look and much of it seems to be in the processing, but to be honest I don't know how it differs from other natural lighting portraiture. It was a long day and we had a range of child models throughout  day - first we had a pair of adorable 5 year old twins, and the bond between them was very sweet to see (see extra photo of them). Daisy was terribly shy and her brother William was so protective and encouraging, which is quite incredible to see that in siblings so young. Then we had Jess with her beautiful smile, see the extra photo of her wearing the crown. Lastly we had a family of three children, and my blip is of the eldest child Trinity, blowing glitter. Her youngest brother Leo (see extra photo) was a real scamp, and quite hard to pin down for a photo - 4 year olds have a mind of their own!

It was a fun day, and we only finished at 5.30pm, and then I had the Friday evening commute back home again - I only got home at 7.30pm. It was a good opportunity to have a range of models in different urban settings, and I really enjoyed the day. I took about 400 photos but on my first review I deleted about 150 - shooting wide open (apertures of f/2) with wriggling children does not always produce pin sharp images!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.