Blue Herron

Today I took Duma to Larrabee Animal Medicine for a heart ultrasound. It is his second visit to Dr. Day who is the king of Bellingham veterinary ultrasound. Duma went to see him six years ago due to a heart murmur. He has idiopathic hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. His regular vet said it was time to check on his heart to see if we needed to start a new medication for him. Dr. Day has a new machine, a human one that can be used on animals as well. It is digital. Like last time, he showed me all kinds of photos and even a video of Duma's heart beating. The good news is his heart is strong, his beat is regular, and his blood pressure is high normal. But he does have signs of a bit more muscle in his left ventricle than he had six years ago. So we will be giving him beta blockers to keep his heart rate at a reasonable limit. Dr. Day is sending his recommendations to our regular vet.

After I dropped Duma off I had an hour and a half to play with before picking him up. So I went back to the Blue Herron rookery to see the birds. This one was right out where I could see him. I got a couple of him flying but they didn't turn out sharp, so I chose this one.

When I got home I had lunch and showed our handy guy Ric a couple of things that needed doing. He fixed the sink and is still working on planning for fixing the bed frame so it won't self destruct now that there is no weight of a mattress on it.

Got a call from Lynda. It looks like the troops are gathering to bring us some help where we need it most. Thank goodness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.