But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Lady Trikies.

Cycling up the hill out of a village this morning, the first nice day this week, I overtook these two young ladies jogging up it at a fair old lick until they had to give way to a large lorry and lost their momentum. At the top, I stopped for a quick blip and had a short chat to explain what I was doing and hand over a couple of Blip cards. The cards are very useful in such situations as I can use them to promise copies of the picture for the price of an email. If they carry on with this system of training: in thirty year’s time, when the young lads (if that’s what they are) have become prop forwards in Scotland’s triumphant rugby team (well, I am allowed to dream) these girls will be well fit.
 
In the dark recesses of my unreliable memory is the story of a body-builder, by the name of  H. E. Mann, who started an exercise regime involving weight lifting  a new born bull calf; as the bull grew, so did Mr Mann’s strength. It was a system used by athletes, that became known as “progressive resistance trqaining,”  and which lead to a variation used by cyclists who fit an increasing number of bricks into their saddlebags. The expression “he-man” is derived from the gentleman’s exploits as is the name “Bull-worker” given to an exercise device invented in the ‘60s and, apparently, still available.
 
Unfortunately, although I can give the provenance of the information, I cannot verify it as Google searches are swamped by references to He-Man and the Masters of the Universe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.