Two Happy Fellows!

After spending most of last evening on further online research about the two cameras he was contemplating buying, Phil finally decided that the Panasonic GX8 was what he really wanted.

Here you see him again with patient KG at Portland's Pro Photo Supply, both of them very happy with this transaction! (I have to admit to a touch of envy over Phil's new camera's tilting viewfinder...)

Before arriving at Pro Photo this afternoon, we spent some time in the cheerful chaos of OMSI, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry, which had a mind-boggling array of hands-on exhibits and swarms of children.

Peace returned when we were among only a handful of walkers on the new Bridge of the People, Tilikum Crossing, near OMSI. At more than 1,700 ft / 518 m in length, it is the only bridge of its kind in the United States, designed to carry Portland's light rail trains, buses, streetcars, bicyclists, and pedestrians.

I wasn't sure that I'd be able to walk across the bridge, as I'm uneasy with both heights and water, but with a lane 14 feet wide for pedestrians and bicyclists, sturdy guard rails, and absolutely no movement of the bridge, I was fine. I may try to post some photos on Flickr when I'm home again; if it works, I'll add the link to a Blip post. In the meantime, Phil has posted a lovely image of the bridge here -- he is Pilipo on Blipfoto.

And... my third consecutive day with more than 10,000 steps, despite having a cold and being at less than full strength!

Blip 1518

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.