Just a boring view out a bathroom window

It's another starry night out there, so I thought I'd stick my camera out of the window with the best view in the house - the one in our ensuite.

I could just lie in the bath for hours, staring up at the sky here. Even the light pollution from Christchurch and Ashburton looks pretty from up here, bizarrely.

This shot is looking Northeast through East, towards the rising galactic core of the Milky Way in Scorpius around 10:53pm.

To get this shot I had to sit on the edge of the bath, my camera and fisheye lens on a flexible gorillapod, wrapped around the sill of the bathroom window. My Samyang 8mm fisheye is a non-cpu lens, so exif doesn't read correctly, but this is a straight out of the camera jpeg (well, apart from a bit of distortion correction in Photoshop) ISO3200, f/2.8, 30 seconds. White balance auto and it's done a nice job I reckon. For the fuji inclined, this one is using the Provia film simulation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.