IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Charleston Farmhouse

Here is a view of Charleston from the outside. I would've liked to take some photos of the inside but they wouldn't allow it for copyright reasons.
It is a house I have been meaning to visit for a long time, and I found it quite moving.  I remember hearing about it for the first time when I was a child and it occupied a rather mythical place in my imagination; the house when my mother's aunt (Vanessa Stephen, who became Vanessa Bell when she married Clive Bell)  and her friends founded and developed a sort of bohemian salon and artists colony known as the Bloomsbury group during and after the First World War.
Almost every surface in the house is decorated or painted  and quite a bit of the furniture was also designed by the group. 
We had a fascinating guided tour of the house. Unfortunately the demand to for tours and visits is so great we could only spend an hour there; I could happily have spend half a day, there is so much to see. I will go back some time; it felt like a significant bit of family history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.