A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Chased away

by an angry swan!

We did a walk around Baildon Moor this morning, around being the operative word as we only crossed the moor at the end, but it was interesting and almost all of it was new to me even though I can see the moor from my bedroom window.

Here we have come upon Tong Park Tarn and I thought this swan was interested in being fed. I took a few pictures and moved on but he pursued me finally taking to the air for a few wing beats and climbing out of the water to see me off! I had seen it's mate at the far end of the tarn, presumably on a nest so I shouldn't have been surprised but it was a bit of a shock and I had to beat a quick retreat and catch up with my fellow walkers.

In to the woods we found lots of bluebells open, didn't see any around home on our walks last week so the sun over the weekend must have brought them on.

We passed some lovely cottages and gardens on our way up to Sconce Lane, which traverses the moor and familiar to me from my son's scouting days. Here we saw horses on the horizon on Harvey Smith's gallops (extra). They cross cross all over here and we finally had to walk along one of them near the end of the walk following the final stretch of the Bradford Millennium Way which I have walked before. I do wonder what happens if you are on them when the horses come galloping along.

A return to Baildon Village via a path through old quarries and then a seat in the sun to enjoy a cold glass. A most pleasant walk and quite warm if a bit hazy for the views over towards Leeds and across Saltaire to Bradford.

Thank you Corinthian Column and Mr CC for organising the walk and J for driving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.