Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

One for the family album

I'm writing today's journal before yesterday, so will try to be coherent; not very easy after a very long journey from summer temperatures to the cold and damp of Spring in Northumberland.

This morning I managed to secure one of the new style "emergency" appointments at the surgery. (I think they should be called "urgent". If it was an emergency we'd be at A & E, but I digress.)

One hour later my sore hand had been x-rayed. To my delight there is no bone out of place and there may not even be a fracture. If there is, it's hair line. What a wimp!  Still using ice packs and analgesics, but I can plan for rapid improvement.

Yesterday was the funeral for Mum's one remaining cousin, Joyce. She had dementia and was in a nursing home. We could not go to the funeral, but  Chris and Chris (in the blip with Mum) are distant relatives who made the journey from Cornwall. They came to see us today. We met them for the first time only 18 months ago.

They are very keen to make sense of the family tree, although some of the stories beggar belief and therefore must be true. Mum was able to help with some old photos that had been incorrectly named.

I can't tell you how tired I feel today.

Thank you for all your good wishes after my fall.  It's lovely to know that blip friends are genuinely interested in each other.

PS I have back blipped missing days from my holiday, so I hope you have time to take a peek.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.