The gully

i haven't moved far in my life apart from when I went to do my training to become a teacher.  This gully has always featured large in my life as it was on my way to school, the shops, the bus and such important facilities.  Now it is the shortest way to my parents' house.

It's very narrow and quite long and at night time it's rather dark.  It's very difficult to ride a bicycle through and when I was fat and wobbly I very often bumped into the sides...  Now I'm super speedy through there!

The Gully
 
The gully has always been narrow and scary.
The little girl used to walk through it quick as lightening
Listening for the footsteps following.
Avoiding the gully if at all possible because…
Because it was narrow and scary.
 
It was the way to school, the short way,
But what if someone was following?
What if someone was coming the other way?
What if…
 
The gully has always been narrow and scary.
The woman uses it as a short cut
In an effort to get to her parents quickly.
They need her sometimes. More often
Now.
Now it’s narrow and scary.
You don’t know what’s going to be at the end.
 
The gully has always been narrow and scary.
You can’t see one end from the other.
It’s a bit like life.
When you get closer to the end
You can see it coming.
It’s narrow and scary.
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.